Three Gunas – How yoga theory relates to learning

As homework for yoga teacher training I’m taking this spring, I’ve been reading The Yoga Aphorisms of Patanjali, a classic study of the practice of yoga and mediation. The section on the gunas stopped me in my tracks. And I’m thinking, what does yoga tell us about learning? Can a 2000-year-old idea apply to today’s net-gen students?

Let’s start with my rough and simple interpretation of the gunas, from a neo-yogi teacher perspective. The gunas are essentially three unique yet linked forces that work collaboratively to create a vision. Sattwa is the vision that’s to be achieved; tamas is the form and obstacles to achieving the vision, and rajas is the power that removes the obstacle and crafts the vision.

Learning in its simplest form, is about creating vision. The gunas can be applied to learning as: teacher = sattwa, content = tamas, and student = rajas. The teacher seeks for students to grasp a topic or task. Sattwa. The content is the actual learning with obstacles that can include: cost, time, a noisy room, complex material, student fear or discomfort with the topic. Tamas. Power comes from the students and the will and energy they invest in learning. Rajas.

All three gunas are needed to create a vision. The teacher needs something to teach. Without the student, there is no one to teach. If there is no content then there is nothing to learn. As an instructional designers I create training to achieve learning goals that meet my client’s vision. I teach because I care about helping others achieve their best. Students seek the classroom to bring themselves closer to a vision they have for something greater for themselves.

Three gunas of yoga teaching. How’s that for a stretch.

Leave a comment